Four FKEC Directors are Re-elected to Board

Posted: February 28, 2020 at 12:54 pm

Incumbents Dr. James Boilini (District 1), Craig Belcher (District 2), Cale Smith (District 3) and Mike Puto (District 4) were recently re-elected to serve three-year terms on the Florida Keys Cooperative Board of Directors.

All four directors were elected in accordance with FKEC bylaws, which state, “in the event only one qualified member from a district is so nominated, that member shall be declared elected in which no election need be held for such office.”

The board has nine seats, and each director must be a member in his or her voting district (Key Largo, Tavernier, Islamorada or Marathon). Directors must be nominated and elected by their home district’s members according to FKEC by laws.

FKEC’s Board of Directors has the authority to establish policies and review operational procedures to promote a progressive, financially-sound utility. The board meets monthly and the forum is open to the public.

Click here to learn more the directors or access meeting minutes or agendas.

Dr. James Boilini District 1, Key Largo
Craig Belcher
District 2, Tavernier
Cale Smith • Treasurer District 3, Islamorada
Mike Puto • VP
District 4, Marathon